This did not cover the same ground as the parish but was a large area based upon the Poor Law Union. It comprised the parishes of Sutton, Cottingham, North Ferriby, Hessle, Hedon, Drypool and Sculcoates itself. It also included the following places:- Stoneferry, Dunswell, Willerby, Melton, Welton, Swanland, Kirk Ella, West Ella, Anlaby, Preston and Marfleet. This means that a birth, marriage or death which took place in Sculcoates Registration District did not necessarily take place in Sculcoates parish.